Thiruvarur Sightseeing

Leisure Places

Muthupet is a panchayat town in Thiruvarur district.Muthupet mangrove forest is located at the southern end of the Cauvery delta covering an area of approximately 13,500 ha of which only 4% is occupied by well-grown mangroves. The rivers Paminiyar, Koraiyar, Kilaithankiyar, Marakkakoraiyar and other tributaries of the river Cauvery flow through Muthupet and adjacent villages.The northern and western borders of the lagoon are occupied by muddy silt ground which is devoid of mangroves. The mangroves beyond Muthupet Lagoon are discontinuously found along the shore and extended up to Point Calimere. Muthupet mangrove forest was under the control of Chatram Department from 1853 to 1912.The government declared the Muthupet mangrove forest as revenue forest in February 1937 and accordingly the mangrove forest was handed over to the forest department of the Madras presidency.The mangrove forest is divided into the Palanjur, Thamarankottai, Maravakkadu, Vadakadu, Thuraikadu and Muthupet reserve forests.

Muthupet reserve forest covers the lagoon, river creeks and the mudflats. Muthupet Lagoon is a spectacular natural creation, which is 8 km from nearby Muthupet town and can be reached only by boat. The lagoon is shallow with an average depth of 1 m.The mangroves have grown close to water level in lagoon side but not in seashore. The reason may be the difference in the nature of fine clayey silt deposition that carried by the rivers.At 100–150 m in width and 5–6 km in length the density of mangroves in eastern side of Muthupet lagoon is comparatively lower than other areas. Tamil Nadu Forest Department has excavated several canals across the mudflat. Each main canal, which enhances the water movement between sea and lagoon has several subcanals on either side with a substantial number of mangrove seedlings. The western side has a protruding land pocket has formed an islet-like structure. This part of the lagoon lies near Koraiyar river mouth with small mangrove patches

Places of Worship

Thyagaragar Temple is a Hindu temple dedicated to the deity Shiva which is located in the town of Thiruvarur. Shiva is worshiped as Moolanathar and is represented by the lingam.The presiding deity is revered in the 7th century Tamil Saiva canonical work the Tevaram, written by Tamil saint poets known as the nayanars and classified as Paadal Petra Sthalam.It houses four gateway towers known as gopurams. The tallest is the eastern tower with four stories and a height of 30 metres.The temple has the largest chariot in Tamil Nadu.

The present masonry structure was built during the Chola dynasty in the 9th century while later expansions are attributed to Vijayanagar rulers of the Sangama Dynasty 1336–1485 CE, the Saluva Dynasty and the Tuluva Dynasty 1491–1570 CE.The temple complex seems to have acted as the cultural model for the big Brahadeeswarar temple at Thanjavur of Rajaraja Chola I.The temples complex occupies an area of around 33 acres with the Kamalalayam tank to its west.The two main shrines of the temple are for vanmikinathar and Thyagarajar.Here all the 9 Navagrahams located towards south in straight line also located in northwest corner of 1st prakaram.The temple has a lot of halls with six of them being the most prominent.This temple hold the record of having maximum number of shrines in India.

Muthupet Dargah is the popular name for Andavar Shahul Dawood Kamlil Valyullah Dargah in the town of Muthupet in the Tiruvarur District. The dargah is believed to be over 1000 years old and one of the oldest Muslim structures in the Indian subcontinent. The dargah is also known as Jambavanodai dargah.Before 1000 years Muthupettai Jambuvonoddai Mullai Land Aayyarkula Periyaar Karupaiyah Koonnar along with his assistants went to plough the land. While he ploughed the land using the plough machine a part of plough struck the land and began to bleed. At the same time he also lost his eye sight.As soon as he woke up he felt that he regained his lost eye sight immediately he woke up and reached Naachikullam. Before his arrival God appeared in their disciples dream and let them know about the arrival of Aayyar.The disciples were happy to hear the news and rushed to see the place. They saw jasmine creepers in that place where Konaar saw blood and built a Kabbar Sherif in that place.The people in Muthupettai and surroundings heard about this miracle and came in groups to see that. He gave his 35 acres surrounding Kabbar Sherif of land free of cost in the name of God.

Rajagopalaswamy temple is a Vaishnavite shrine located in the town of Mannargudi.The presiding deity is Rajagopalaswamy in a form of Lord Krishna. The temple is spread over an area of 23 acres and it is one of the important Vaishnavite shrines in India. The temple is called Dakshina Dwarka along with Guruvayoor by Hindus.The image of the presiding deity is 12 feet tall. There is a big tank at the entrance of the shrine where rain water is collected. The temple complex has 16 gopurams, 7 prakarams, 24 shrines, seven mandapams and nine sacred theerthams.The temple tank is called Haridranadhi 1,158 feet long and 837 feet broad making it one of the largest temple tanks in India.The temple was first constructed by Kulothunga Chola I1070-1125 A.D. with bricks and mortar indicated by various stone inscription found in the site.Successive kings of the Chola empire, Rajaraja Chola III, Rajendra Chola III and kings of Thanjavur Nayaks, Achyuta Deva Raya expanded the temple. The temple contains inscriptions of the Hoysala kings and some Vijayanagara grants and many records of the later Nayaks and Marathas.The current temple structure hall of 1000 pillars, main gopuram and the big compound wall around the temple was built by the king Vijayaraghava Nayak 1532-1575 A.D.